Tags

, , ,


Many of you will know that I used John as the inspiration for my character Benito in Aphrodite’s Fire, since then I have considered myself honoured to have John as a friend and because I know he has some big things happening in his life I thought it would be good to do another interview with him so that you, my lovely readers can find out what the future holds for my friend. So here it is, our interview.

I hope you enjoy reading and watching. I will add media links for you all to follow John at the end of the interview.

Thanks to my fabulous internet stalking skills (and that we have known each other for a while) I know quite a bit about your working past, but for those that don’t have my skills can you tell us how you got to where you are today? 

I basically started off in fitness and modeling in my late teens which kind of expanded as time went on. Along the way I was involved with some body building, professional wrestling and many different genres of modeling which included being a romance cover model. I was the most tattooed male romance cover model in the world 2013 and 2014. During my time as a male fitness model and competitor I connected with film director Jillian Bullock. She selected me for the role of United States Army Captain Jake Nixon in the upcoming movie, ‘A Sense of Purpose Fighting For Our Lives’ which is coming to theaters in November 2017.

Who have been the biggest influences on your life and the decisions you have made?

I have been blessed over the years to have had so many good people around me that I confide in for advice. To be quite honest with you SJ, if I had to say the biggest influences in my life it would have to be all those people who made it to the top of the planet who started at the ground up. Those who made it with hard work, dedication and sacrifice. They are the people who have earned respect from me and everyone all over the world.

Now you have retired from competing what does the future hold for you?

Being retired from competition now allows me to pursue acting as a full-time career. This is very exciting for me. I am very humbled and honored to say there are so many people who believe in me 100% as an actor. This includes director and producer Jillian Bullock who is one of my greatest inspirations and role models.

In your role as Captain Jake Nixon in A Sense Of Purpose, Fighting For Our Lives (view the trailer here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMyLz0tkHUc ) you are quite frankly bloody terrifying. Did you find it hard to get into your characters frame of mind and did you have any special tricks to help you become so horrible?

Well first of all, thank you so much for saying that as my goal is for every viewer who sees me as the evil bad guy Captain Nixon to be terrified. Viewers will hate this man because he truly is a psychopath. People who have seen me in the demo reel teaser trailer with my co-star Tamara Woods as Nixon gave me some very nice reviews which I was very proud of. One thing they all say is that the character is the 100% opposite of the real John Quinlan. In real life I am a father and a kind person. Captain Nixon’s character embodies everything that is evil. I have had training as an actor from people around me and I think the ability to become this very nasty character as soon as a director yells action comes from my days in the world famous Killer Kowalski Professional Wrestling School. I was blessed to be trained by the legendary WWE Hall of Fame wrestler Walter “Killer” Kowalski. He forced me right from the start to learn how to cut a promo in front of guys that were colossal sized intimidating human beings. In the world of pro wrestling they call it, “going into character.” Mastering this skill from Walter is something special. I am truly proud to say not only was Killer Kowalski my teacher and mentor but also my friend. Rest in peace Walter, I thank you and I will never forget you.

Now for the fun stuff…

What is the one thing you can’t live without?

My three children

Do you listen to music when you workout and if so what do you listen to?

Anything very loud and upbeat to get my blood going. I love hardcore metal and bumping techno to be quite honest with you.

What is the most embarrassing thing you have ever done?

I farted in an elevator full of beautiful women. I am lucky because they thought it was one of them and not me which I thought that was hilarious.

You’re a new addition to the crayon box. What colour would you be and why?

I have noticed in the TV and film industry it is kind of classic throughout the course of time that the villain always wears black. So being a nasty villain like Captain Nixon in the upcoming movie, A Sense of Purpose Fighting For Our Lives, I will have to say the black crayon would suit me just fine.

What were you like in high school?

In high school I was a humble guy who played baseball and went to 4 proms. I have some sweet memories from those days.

What was the last thing you watched on TV?

The last thing I watch on TV was the movie, Goosebumps with Jack Black with my three children. I love Jack Black in that movie

Links

Website

imdb

Pinterest

Flickr

Fan Site

Twitter

a-sense-of-purpose-fighting-for-our-lives-trailer-john-joseph-quinlan-captain-nixon-1

a-sense-of-purpose-fighting-for-our-lives-trailer-john-joseph-quinlan-captain-nixon-2

I have to say a massive thanks to John for taking time out of his busy schedule to answer these questions.

Please show him your support.

Much Love,

S.J xxx

